The Exeter Foundation Devon Sports Awards

DSA Header 2016


Nominations have now closed for the prestigious Exeter Foundation Devon Sports Awards, which will take place at the home of the Exeter Chiefs, Sandy Park, on 13th May 2016.

The awards, which are held in association with The Exeter Foundation and Active Devon and in partnership with Exeter College, celebrate the best in sport throughout Devon, with all funds going to the Exeter Foundation.

Organisers of the event are keen to celebrate a wide cross-section of sport from community to elite level and there has been a reorganisation of the categories from previous years to reflect this.

Performers and teams will be recognised in the ‘Community Sport Performer of the Year’ category, which this year will aim to acknowledge achievements from teams or individuals across a wide range of community sports in Devon thanks to additional support from various governing bodies.

As in previous years, coaches and volunteers will also be commended with the Devon Young Coach and Devon Coach of the Year awards, and Devon Young Volunteer and Devon Volunteer of the Year. In addition, those who have successfully increased opportunities for people with disabilities to participate in activity and sport in Devon can be nominated for the Contribution to Inclusive Sport award.

Outstanding clubs and elite performers can also be nominated, and there will be an Outstanding Contribution to Sport award decided from the winners of all of the other categories.

Exeter Foundation Chairman, Tony Rowe, said: “The Exeter Foundation Devon Sports Awards aim to recognise as many people as possible who contribute to all levels of sport throughout Devon.

“The county has a proud sporting history and it is a privilege of the Exeter Foundation, with Active Devon and Exeter College, to be able to celebrate this and the bright future of sport in Devon.”

“The level of entries we have had over the past few years has been outstanding,” said Matt Evans, Chief Executive of Active Devon. “It is always amazing to see the amount of voluntary effort that underpins sport in Devon and enables the teams and performers to achieve great things.”

Congratulations to the following, people and clubs who have been shortlisted from 180 nominations for the Devon Sports Awards. The full list of finalists are:

Devon Club of the Year

The Lodge Actions Sports Club (Newton Abbot)

Exe Hockey Club (Exeter)

Joola Plymouth (Plymouth)


Contribution to Inclusive Sport

Larissa Milden (Plymouth)

Stuart Disney (Cullompton)

Matt Orchard (Newton Abbot)


Devon Volunteer of the Year

Jock Spry (Thorverton),

Stuart Munday (Plymouth)

Jill Dupain (Exeter),


Devon Young Coach of the Year

Rebecca Barnes (Exeter)

Mason King/Tyler Butt/Lewis Hill (Tiverton)

Lorna Burston (Tiverton)


Devon Coach of the Year 

Mark Taylor (Bovey Tracey)

Harry Townsend (Exeter)

Paul Whiting (Plymouth)

Devon Young Volunteer of the Year 

Celine Conley (Yelverton)

Sarah Devon (Bideford)

Linnea Byrne (Paignton)


Community Sports Performer of the Year:

Rachel Champion (Exeter)

Joshua Williams-Clifford (Exeter)

Tom Lammonby (Exeter

Abbie Burrows (Plymouth)

Jessica Bradley (Tiverton)

Gracie Mitchell (Torquay)

Luca Wickens (Paignton)

Net Prophets (Exeter)

Billy Searle (Exeter)

Phoebe Campbell (Exeter)

Jack Cox (Torbay)

Sophie Woolcock (Brixham)

Finalists will be presented with their awards and certificates by star hurdler Colin Jackson, Olympic silver medallist and twice world champion. Tickets can still be purchased for the Awards at Sandy Park with Colin Jackson. Contact for more details.

Full details of previous awards are available by clicking the links in the index to the left of this text, the year corresponds with the year the Awards Ceremony was held.