About Active Devon

Remit and Governance


Active Devon is the County Sports Partnership (CSP) for Devon, including Plymouth and Torbay, and one of a network of 43 CSPs across England. As a CSP, Active Devon provides a set of core services for Sport England to the sports sector, including over 46 National Governing Bodies (NGBs) of sport, and plays a key role in the delivery of Sport England and other governmental initiatives and programmes. While the strategic plans of Sport England, NGBs and other parties clearly significantly influence Active Devon’s own strategy, we pursue our own, wider vision of everyone in Devon active for life.

Our experienced Staff Team: manages the delivery of our programmes and services; supports the work of delivers and our delivery partners; grows and services our network, and; develops new opportunities. Colleagues in our Development Team are our front line workers. They each have a specific locality or functional focus and are the first point of contact with Active Devon in your local area. Our development work is underpinned by Business Support colleagues based at our main office in Exeter. To see profiles of our individual staff members click here.


Active Devon is a separately constituted, not-for-profit, unincorporated association, hosted by Devon County Council (DCC) which acts as the accountable body for Active Devon. This means that Active Devon operates as a form of third sector organisation with some key facilities and functions, such as insurance, finance and HR, provided for it by DCC under a Memorandum of Understanding.

The Active Devon Board determines our strategic direction and alignment, provides oversight and accountability, and ensures that governance control is shared, rather than resting with one single agency or individual. 

Board Members

Board Members are recruited from sectors/organisations relevant to the work of Active Devon to provide a broad range of skills, experience and local knowledge. Active Devon’s current Chair is Holly Woodford.

The table below shows the full list of current Board Members:

Active Devon Board

Holly Woodford (Chair)

tumuv Ltd

Lyn Brown

Inspire SW

Dr. Karen Cook

University of St Mark and St John

Diana Crump

Living Options Devon

Chief Superintendent Jim Nye

Devon and Cornwall Police

Nigel Rowe MBE

Event Management Services Ltd

John Smith

Devon County Council

Jim Barrett (ex officio)

Sport England

Board Member Recruitment
Active Devon maintains a register of potential candidates for Board Membership so that when, from time to time vacancies occur, we can ensure that the Board maintains a strong combined skill set.

Click here to see the Active Devon Board Membership Advert and click here to see more information about the Active Devon Board and Board Membership
Board Business
Click the links in the table below to download copies of agendas and notes from the last two years of Board meetings

Click the links in the table below to see the quarterly reports which summarise progress against the plan and which the Board receives each quarter 

Jan 2016 

2015 - 16 




October 2015

2015-16 Q2




July 2015

2015-16 Q1




April 2015 2014-15 Q4 Agenda



March 2015 FY16 Bus Planning Agenda Notes
January 2015 2014-15 Q3 Agenda Notes Performance
October 2014 2014-15 Q2 Agenda Notes Performance
July 2014 2014-15 Q1 Agenda Notes Performance
April 2014 2013-14 Q4 Agenda Notes


March 2014 FY15 Bus Planning Agenda Notes